Georgia ticket costs: $195.

Athens-Clarke County publishes payable totals from $35 to $310 for ordinary speeding 6–23 mph over. Its June 18, 2026 schedule includes court costs and applicable state surcharges.

Road, zones and driving history

15 mph over in Georgia

Published court estimate
$195

Athens-Clarke County Municipal Court

2 pointsRetrieved 2026-09-30

The amount, line by line.

Cost breakdown
Published court amount (fine and fees)$195
Estimate shown$195

This is a named municipal schedule, not a Georgia-wide price. The published list does not price 1–5 or 24+ mph over. A Court Only notation or another appearance-required charge prevents prepayment. A separate DDS Super Speeder fee may also apply.

Not a payment quote. The citation, charge, offense date and court determine the final amount.

Insurance illustration: $261.95 more per year, applying the 2026 study’s 15% state increase to the 2023 NAIC premium. Historical baseline and study sample differ; this is a scenario, not a quote.

The statutory fine and the payable amount.

O.C.G.A. 40-6-1 limits base fines for a first-ever ordinary speeding offense: 1-5 mph over $0; 6-10 no more than $25; 11-14 $100; 15-18 $125; 19-23 $150; 24-33 $500. These are fine caps before applicable assessments. Coweta's currently linked August 25, 2022 order requires an affidavit proving no previous speeding disposition in any jurisdiction. Its eligible first-ever total is shown as a conditional published example, with that date explicit. The calculator's default uses Athens-Clarke's current court schedule; ask the court how the first-ever cap applies before paying.

Governing schedule or statute

Retrieved 2026-09-30

The fine changes with the speed.

Athens-Clarke County Municipal Court. Amounts follow the named schedule, with its scope shown beside the estimate.

Georgia speeding schedule
Speed above the limitPublished estimatePoints
5 mph overCourt sets the amount0
10 mph over$350
15 mph over$1952
20 mph over$5103
25 mph overCourt sets the amount4
30 mph overCourt sets the amount4
35 mph overCourt sets the amount6
40 mph overCourt sets the amount6

What published examples show.

These are named court schedules or worked examples. Compare the speed, road, zone and included charges before comparing the amounts.

At 15 mph over, the comparable examples below span $195–$244.75. This observed range describes those schedules; other courts and case outcomes can fall outside it.

Georgia published examples
Court or exampleAbove the limitPublished amountWhat it covers
Athens-Clarke
Retrieved 2026-09-30
15 mph$195Total includes costs and applicable state surcharges.
Snellville
Retrieved 2026-09-30
15 mph$125Published fine, table updated March 2024; bundled court-cost scope is not stated. It is not used as a fee-inclusive range endpoint.
Houston County
Retrieved 2026-09-30
15 mph$168Published fine; fee-inclusion scope is not stated. It is not used as a fee-inclusive range endpoint.
Chatham County
Retrieved 2026-09-30
15 mph$244.75The adopted June 26, 2026 revenue ordinance lists $150 base fine and $244.75 Fine + Fee for 11-19 mph over. An ordinary non-accident citation is assumed; this court amount is separate from any DDS Super Speeder assessment.
Coweta County Traffic Violations Bureau
Retrieved 2026-09-30
15 mph$177.63Currently linked amended August 25, 2022 first-ever schedule: $125 base plus mandatory add-ons totals $177.63 for 15-18 over. A sworn affidavit must establish no previous speeding guilty/nolo plea, conviction or bond forfeiture in any jurisdiction. Timely adult payment and no separate court-only charge are assumed. The calculator prior balance does not establish eligibility; this amount is excluded from its ordinary observed range.

Your record is a separate cost.

Georgia resident speeding convictions below 15 mph over do not add DDS points. The ordinary adult point schedule rises from 2 to 6 points; younger-driver rules differ.

15 points in 24 months is a published action/review threshold for a standard adult license. Other offenses and younger drivers can trigger action sooner.

The point accumulation window shown is 24 months. This does not mean the conviction disappears from your driving record.

Read the official points rules

Insurance deserves its own line.

The 2026 ValuePenguin quote study reports a 15% average increase for one speeding ticket in Georgia. Your insurer, coverage and driving history can produce a different result. Read the study and its sample.

The NAIC 2023 combined average premium for Georgia is $1,746.32 per year. This historical measure combines liability, collision and comprehensive averages.

At $1,746.32 per year and 15%, the illustration adds $261.95 per year, about $21.83 per month.

Applying a 2026 quote-study percentage to the historical 2023 NAIC combined premium is illustrative math. These sources use different populations and coverage methods; this is not a measured post-ticket average or a current quote. No future premium increase is included in a court fine.

Choose your next step.

Pay through the court

Payment may resolve the charge as a conviction. Check the case and final amount first.

Official payment instructions

Ask about traffic school

A certified Driver Improvement course can support a DDS point-reduction request of up to 7 points once every 5 years for eligible Georgia residents. Court disposition and course approval are separate questions.

Official eligibility rules

Request a hearing

Follow the court date on your citation. A separate DDS Super Speeder notice has its own 120-day payment deadline; do not confuse it with the court’s deadline.

Georgia defines reckless driving by disregard for the safety of people or property, rather than a universal mph cutoff. DDS lists a maximum $1,000 fine and 12 months of imprisonment; drivers under 21 face license suspension on conviction. Speeding can be evidence of the separate reckless charge.

Court response instructions

The questions
behind the ticket.

How much is 15 over in Georgia?

The estimate shown is $195. This is a named municipal schedule, not a Georgia-wide price. The published list does not price 1–5 or 24+ mph over. A Court Only notation or another appearance-required charge prevents prepayment. A separate DDS Super Speeder fee may also apply.

Will my insurance go up?

A conviction can affect premiums, but your insurer uses its own rules. The 2026 ValuePenguin quote study reports a 15% average increase for one speeding ticket in Georgia. Your insurer, coverage and driving history can produce a different result. A points-free outcome does not promise an unchanged premium.

Does traffic school remove points?

A certified Driver Improvement course can support a DDS point-reduction request of up to 7 points once every 5 years for eligible Georgia residents. Court disposition and course approval are separate questions. Confirm eligibility before enrolling or paying your ticket.

Is this the amount I should pay?

No. The estimate explains a published schedule. Pay only the amount confirmed by the court handling the citation, through its official instructions.

What if I do not respond on time?

Follow the court date on your citation. A separate DDS Super Speeder notice has its own 120-day payment deadline; do not confuse it with the court’s deadline. Missing a deadline can add consequences. Ask the court about extensions or payment help before it passes.

The same speed in nearby states.

Check the source, not just the total.

Each verified rule carries its own URL and retrieval date. Your court may change its schedule after a review.