15 over in a school zone in Georgia: $400.
Athens-Clarke County publishes payable totals from $35 to $310 for ordinary speeding 6–23 mph over. Its June 18, 2026 schedule includes court costs and applicable state surcharges.
15 mph over in Georgia
Published court estimateAthens-Clarke County Municipal Court
The amount, line by line.
| Published court amount (fine and fees) | $400 |
|---|---|
| Estimate shown | $400 |
This is a named municipal schedule, not a Georgia-wide price. The published list does not price 1–5 or 24+ mph over. A Court Only notation or another appearance-required charge prevents prepayment. A separate DDS Super Speeder fee may also apply.
Not a payment quote. The citation, charge, offense date and court determine the final amount.
Insurance illustration: $261.95 more per year, applying the 2026 study’s 15% state increase to the 2023 NAIC premium. Historical baseline and study sample differ; this is a scenario, not a quote.
The statutory fine and the payable amount.
O.C.G.A. 40-6-1 limits base fines for a first-ever ordinary speeding offense: 1-5 mph over $0; 6-10 no more than $25; 11-14 $100; 15-18 $125; 19-23 $150; 24-33 $500. These are fine caps before applicable assessments. Coweta's currently linked August 25, 2022 order requires an affidavit proving no previous speeding disposition in any jurisdiction. Its eligible first-ever total is shown as a conditional published example, with that date explicit. The calculator's default uses Athens-Clarke's current court schedule; ask the court how the first-ever cap applies before paying.
Governing schedule or statuteRetrieved 2026-09-30
The fine changes with the speed.
Athens-Clarke County Municipal Court. Amounts follow the named schedule, with its scope shown beside the estimate.
| Speed above the limit | Published estimate | Points |
|---|---|---|
| 5 mph over | Court sets the amount | 0 |
| 10 mph over | $100 | 0 |
| 15 mph over | $400 | 2 |
| 20 mph over | $829 | 3 |
| 25 mph over | Court sets the amount | 4 |
| 30 mph over | Court sets the amount | 4 |
| 35 mph over | Court sets the amount | 6 |
| 40 mph over | Court sets the amount | 6 |
What published examples show.
These are named court schedules or worked examples. Compare the speed, road, zone and included charges before comparing the amounts.
| Court or example | Above the limit | Published amount | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Athens-Clarke Retrieved 2026-09-30 | 15 mph | $195 | Total includes costs and applicable state surcharges. |
| Snellville Retrieved 2026-09-30 | 15 mph | $125 | Published fine, table updated March 2024; bundled court-cost scope is not stated. It is not used as a fee-inclusive range endpoint. |
| Houston County Retrieved 2026-09-30 | 15 mph | $168 | Published fine; fee-inclusion scope is not stated. It is not used as a fee-inclusive range endpoint. |
| Chatham County Retrieved 2026-09-30 | 15 mph | $244.75 | The adopted June 26, 2026 revenue ordinance lists $150 base fine and $244.75 Fine + Fee for 11-19 mph over. An ordinary non-accident citation is assumed; this court amount is separate from any DDS Super Speeder assessment. |
| Coweta County Traffic Violations Bureau Retrieved 2026-09-30 | 15 mph | $177.63 | Currently linked amended August 25, 2022 first-ever schedule: $125 base plus mandatory add-ons totals $177.63 for 15-18 over. A sworn affidavit must establish no previous speeding guilty/nolo plea, conviction or bond forfeiture in any jurisdiction. Timely adult payment and no separate court-only charge are assumed. The calculator prior balance does not establish eligibility; this amount is excluded from its ordinary observed range. |
Compare the neighboring speed bands.
Your record is a separate cost.
Georgia resident speeding convictions below 15 mph over do not add DDS points. The ordinary adult point schedule rises from 2 to 6 points; younger-driver rules differ.
15 points in 24 months is a published action/review threshold for a standard adult license. Other offenses and younger drivers can trigger action sooner.
The point accumulation window shown is 24 months. This does not mean the conviction disappears from your driving record.
Read the official points rulesInsurance deserves its own line.
The 2026 ValuePenguin quote study reports a 15% average increase for one speeding ticket in Georgia. Your insurer, coverage and driving history can produce a different result. Read the study and its sample.
The NAIC 2023 combined average premium for Georgia is $1,746.32 per year. This historical measure combines liability, collision and comprehensive averages.
At $1,746.32 per year and 15%, the illustration adds $261.95 per year, about $21.83 per month.
Applying a 2026 quote-study percentage to the historical 2023 NAIC combined premium is illustrative math. These sources use different populations and coverage methods; this is not a measured post-ticket average or a current quote. No future premium increase is included in a court fine.
Choose your next step.
The questions
behind the ticket.
How much is 15 over in Georgia?
The estimate shown is $400. This is a named municipal schedule, not a Georgia-wide price. The published list does not price 1–5 or 24+ mph over. A Court Only notation or another appearance-required charge prevents prepayment. A separate DDS Super Speeder fee may also apply.
Will my insurance go up?
A conviction can affect premiums, but your insurer uses its own rules. The 2026 ValuePenguin quote study reports a 15% average increase for one speeding ticket in Georgia. Your insurer, coverage and driving history can produce a different result. A points-free outcome does not promise an unchanged premium.
Does traffic school remove points?
A certified Driver Improvement course can support a DDS point-reduction request of up to 7 points once every 5 years for eligible Georgia residents. Court disposition and course approval are separate questions. Confirm eligibility before enrolling or paying your ticket.
Is this the amount I should pay?
No. The estimate explains a published schedule. Pay only the amount confirmed by the court handling the citation, through its official instructions.
What if I do not respond on time?
Follow the court date on your citation. A separate DDS Super Speeder notice has its own 120-day payment deadline; do not confuse it with the court’s deadline. Missing a deadline can add consequences. Ask the court about extensions or payment help before it passes.
The same speed in nearby states.
Check the source, not just the total.
Each verified rule carries its own URL and retrieval date. Your court may change its schedule after a review.
- Fine scheduleRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Statutory fine rangeRetrieved 2026-09-30
- PointsRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Serious chargesRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Response deadlineRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Insurance studyRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Snellville published scheduleRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Houston County published scheduleRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Chatham County published scheduleRetrieved 2026-09-30
- NAIC historical state premiumRetrieved 2026-09-30
Not legal advice. Amounts are estimates from the cited schedules. Your citation and the court’s instructions control. This site is independent of courts, DMVs and insurers.