South Carolina ticket costs: $128.75.

Summerville publishes these local maximum fine-and-court-cost amounts. Other courts publish different amounts and band boundaries.

Road, zones and driving history

15 mph over in South Carolina

Published court estimate
$128.75

Summerville Municipal Court, South Carolina

4 pointsRetrieved 2026-09-30

The amount, line by line.

Cost breakdown
Published court amount (fine and fees)$128.75
Estimate shown$128.75

Published Summerville maximums, not a statewide fixed fine or a payment quote. The judge, the charge on the citation and the local court determine the disposition. The 11–15 and 16–24 bands follow this local published table exactly. The last source row says 25 mph over; it does not specify a 26-plus band, so amounts above 25 are withheld rather than extrapolated.

Not a payment quote. The citation, charge, offense date and court determine the final amount.

Insurance illustration: $288.17 more per year, applying the 2026 study’s 19% state increase to the 2023 NAIC premium. Historical baseline and study sample differ; this is a scenario, not a quote.

The statutory fine and the payable amount.

Section 56-5-1520(G) sets first-offense base-fine ranges that rise from $15–$25 in the lowest speed band through $75–$200 in the highest; the highest band can also involve up to 30 days imprisonment. Court costs and statutory assessments are additional. The local court amounts compared here are not these base fines.

Governing schedule or statute

Retrieved 2026-09-30

The fine changes with the speed.

Summerville Municipal Court, South Carolina. Amounts follow the named schedule, with its scope shown beside the estimate.

South Carolina speeding schedule
Speed above the limitPublished estimatePoints
5 mph over$76.882
10 mph over$76.882
15 mph over$128.754
20 mph over$180.504
25 mph over$3556
30 mph overCourt sets the amount6
35 mph overCourt sets the amount6
40 mph overCourt sets the amount6

What published examples show.

These are named court schedules or worked examples. Compare the speed, road, zone and included charges before comparing the amounts.

South Carolina published examples
Court or exampleAbove the limitPublished amountWhat it covers
Summerville Municipal Court
Retrieved 2026-09-30
20 mph$180.50Published local maximum fine-and-costs amount; retained as printed rather than silently correcting rounding.
City of Clemson Municipal Court
Retrieved 2026-09-30
20 mph$180.63Currently published pre-court bond/fine table gives a different 16–25-over total. The document has an older publication date.
Clemson University Municipal Court
Retrieved 2026-09-30
20 mph$180.50Separate campus court. Its currently published table states As of July 1, 2008; the 16–25-over amount is $180.50. This is not represented as a 2026 revision.

Your record is a separate cost.

Speeding adds 2 points at up to 10 mph over, 4 at 11–24 over and 6 at 25+. Reckless driving adds 6 points.

At 12–15 points the suspension is 3 months; 16–17 means 4 months, 18–19 means 5 and 20+ means 6. Beginner, conditional and special restricted licenses can be suspended for 6 months at only 6 points.

Points count fully during the first 12 months after violation, at half value during months 12–24, and are excluded after 24 months for accumulation review.

Read the official points rules

Insurance deserves its own line.

The 2026 ValuePenguin quote study reports a 19% average increase for one speeding ticket in South Carolina. Your insurer, coverage and driving history can produce a different result. Read the study and its sample.

The NAIC 2023 combined average premium for South Carolina is $1,516.71 per year. This historical measure combines liability, collision and comprehensive averages.

At $1,516.71 per year and 19%, the illustration adds $288.17 per year, about $24.01 per month.

Applying a 2026 quote-study percentage to the historical 2023 NAIC combined premium is illustrative math. These sources use different populations and coverage methods; this is not a measured post-ticket average or a current quote. No future premium increase is included in a court fine.

Choose your next step.

Pay through the court

Payment may resolve the charge as a conviction. Check the case and final amount first.

Official payment instructions

Ask about traffic school

An eligible 8-hour South Carolina defensive-driving course can deduct 4 points once in 3 years. Complete it before a suspension begins; completion does not cancel a suspension already in effect.

Official eligibility rules

Request a hearing

The named court and court date control. Charleston Municipal Court requires appearance when marked Appearance Required and states that fines are due on the court day; eligible defendants may post the stated bond rather than attend.

Section 56-5-2920 covers willful or wanton disregard for safety. A second reckless-driving conviction within 5 years requires a 3-month suspension.

Court response instructions

The questions
behind the ticket.

How much is 15 over in South Carolina?

The estimate shown is $128.75. Published Summerville maximums, not a statewide fixed fine or a payment quote. The judge, the charge on the citation and the local court determine the disposition. The 11–15 and 16–24 bands follow this local published table exactly. The last source row says 25 mph over; it does not specify a 26-plus band, so amounts above 25 are withheld rather than extrapolated.

Will my insurance go up?

A conviction can affect premiums, but your insurer uses its own rules. The 2026 ValuePenguin quote study reports a 19% average increase for one speeding ticket in South Carolina. Your insurer, coverage and driving history can produce a different result. A points-free outcome does not promise an unchanged premium.

Does traffic school remove points?

An eligible 8-hour South Carolina defensive-driving course can deduct 4 points once in 3 years. Complete it before a suspension begins; completion does not cancel a suspension already in effect. Confirm eligibility before enrolling or paying your ticket.

Is this the amount I should pay?

No. The estimate explains a published schedule. Pay only the amount confirmed by the court handling the citation, through its official instructions.

What if I do not respond on time?

The named court and court date control. Charleston Municipal Court requires appearance when marked Appearance Required and states that fines are due on the court day; eligible defendants may post the stated bond rather than attend. Missing a deadline can add consequences. Ask the court about extensions or payment help before it passes.

The same speed in nearby states.

Check the source, not just the total.

Each verified rule carries its own URL and retrieval date. Your court may change its schedule after a review.