Insurance after a ticket in South Carolina.
Summerville publishes these local maximum fine-and-court-cost amounts. Other courts publish different amounts and band boundaries.
15 mph over in South Carolina
Published court estimateSummerville Municipal Court, South Carolina
The amount, line by line.
| Published court amount (fine and fees) | $128.75 |
|---|---|
| Estimate shown | $128.75 |
Published Summerville maximums, not a statewide fixed fine or a payment quote. The judge, the charge on the citation and the local court determine the disposition. The 11–15 and 16–24 bands follow this local published table exactly. The last source row says 25 mph over; it does not specify a 26-plus band, so amounts above 25 are withheld rather than extrapolated.
Not a payment quote. The citation, charge, offense date and court determine the final amount.
Insurance illustration: $288.17 more per year, applying the 2026 study’s 19% state increase to the 2023 NAIC premium. Historical baseline and study sample differ; this is a scenario, not a quote.
The statutory fine and the payable amount.
Section 56-5-1520(G) sets first-offense base-fine ranges that rise from $15–$25 in the lowest speed band through $75–$200 in the highest; the highest band can also involve up to 30 days imprisonment. Court costs and statutory assessments are additional. The local court amounts compared here are not these base fines.
Governing schedule or statuteRetrieved 2026-09-30
The fine changes with the speed.
Summerville Municipal Court, South Carolina. Amounts follow the named schedule, with its scope shown beside the estimate.
| Speed above the limit | Published estimate | Points |
|---|---|---|
| 5 mph over | $76.88 | 2 |
| 10 mph over | $76.88 | 2 |
| 15 mph over | $128.75 | 4 |
| 20 mph over | $180.50 | 4 |
| 25 mph over | $355 | 6 |
| 30 mph over | Court sets the amount | 6 |
| 35 mph over | Court sets the amount | 6 |
| 40 mph over | Court sets the amount | 6 |
What published examples show.
These are named court schedules or worked examples. Compare the speed, road, zone and included charges before comparing the amounts.
| Court or example | Above the limit | Published amount | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Summerville Municipal Court Retrieved 2026-09-30 | 20 mph | $180.50 | Published local maximum fine-and-costs amount; retained as printed rather than silently correcting rounding. |
| City of Clemson Municipal Court Retrieved 2026-09-30 | 20 mph | $180.63 | Currently published pre-court bond/fine table gives a different 16–25-over total. The document has an older publication date. |
| Clemson University Municipal Court Retrieved 2026-09-30 | 20 mph | $180.50 | Separate campus court. Its currently published table states As of July 1, 2008; the 16–25-over amount is $180.50. This is not represented as a 2026 revision. |
Your record is a separate cost.
Speeding adds 2 points at up to 10 mph over, 4 at 11–24 over and 6 at 25+. Reckless driving adds 6 points.
At 12–15 points the suspension is 3 months; 16–17 means 4 months, 18–19 means 5 and 20+ means 6. Beginner, conditional and special restricted licenses can be suspended for 6 months at only 6 points.
Points count fully during the first 12 months after violation, at half value during months 12–24, and are excluded after 24 months for accumulation review.
Read the official points rulesInsurance deserves its own line.
The 2026 ValuePenguin quote study reports a 19% average increase for one speeding ticket in South Carolina. Your insurer, coverage and driving history can produce a different result. Read the study and its sample.
The NAIC 2023 combined average premium for South Carolina is $1,516.71 per year. This historical measure combines liability, collision and comprehensive averages.
At $1,516.71 per year and 19%, the illustration adds $288.17 per year, about $24.01 per month.
Applying a 2026 quote-study percentage to the historical 2023 NAIC combined premium is illustrative math. These sources use different populations and coverage methods; this is not a measured post-ticket average or a current quote. No future premium increase is included in a court fine.
Choose your next step.
The questions
behind the ticket.
How much is 15 over in South Carolina?
The estimate shown is $128.75. Published Summerville maximums, not a statewide fixed fine or a payment quote. The judge, the charge on the citation and the local court determine the disposition. The 11–15 and 16–24 bands follow this local published table exactly. The last source row says 25 mph over; it does not specify a 26-plus band, so amounts above 25 are withheld rather than extrapolated.
Will my insurance go up?
A conviction can affect premiums, but your insurer uses its own rules. The 2026 ValuePenguin quote study reports a 19% average increase for one speeding ticket in South Carolina. Your insurer, coverage and driving history can produce a different result. A points-free outcome does not promise an unchanged premium.
Does traffic school remove points?
An eligible 8-hour South Carolina defensive-driving course can deduct 4 points once in 3 years. Complete it before a suspension begins; completion does not cancel a suspension already in effect. Confirm eligibility before enrolling or paying your ticket.
Is this the amount I should pay?
No. The estimate explains a published schedule. Pay only the amount confirmed by the court handling the citation, through its official instructions.
What if I do not respond on time?
The named court and court date control. Charleston Municipal Court requires appearance when marked Appearance Required and states that fines are due on the court day; eligible defendants may post the stated bond rather than attend. Missing a deadline can add consequences. Ask the court about extensions or payment help before it passes.
The same speed in nearby states.
Check the source, not just the total.
Each verified rule carries its own URL and retrieval date. Your court may change its schedule after a review.
- Fine scheduleRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Statutory fine rangeRetrieved 2026-09-30
- PointsRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Suspension rules — supporting sourceRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Response deadlineRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Court payment instructionsRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Insurance studyRetrieved 2026-09-30
- City of Clemson Municipal Court published scheduleRetrieved 2026-09-30
- Clemson University Municipal Court published scheduleRetrieved 2026-09-30
- NAIC historical state premiumRetrieved 2026-09-30
Not legal advice. Amounts are estimates from the cited schedules. Your citation and the court’s instructions control. This site is independent of courts, DMVs and insurers.